Posted by: livelovefly | May 7, 2013

New York! New York!

Last week, I had a 33-hour layover in New York, USA. It was my first time in the Big Apple and I was so excited to explore the most famous city in the world.

1

When we arrived at the Garden City Hotel in Long Island, I immediately checked-in, changed clothes, and went back to the hotel lobby to meet my step-brother. Once more, he accompanied me in touring the city like what he did when in my first time in Washington. (see Hello, Washington DC!)

0

This time, it was easier for him to meet me since he lives in Queens, a 40-minute drive to Long Island. Another flight attendant who was with me on the flight decided to join us for a few hours before meeting her boyfriend late in the afternoon. We ate lunch at the hotel before starting the city tour.

1

After lunch, my step-brother drove us back to his apartment in Queens to leave his car. We took the subway from there. My step-brother said it would be easier to move around the city through the subway than with the car because finding a vacant parking space would be a huge problem at each stop. Before riding the subway, we stopped by Crystal’s Cafe just below the subway station for some Filipino pastries. Then, we bought our metro cards, loaded them, and we’re off to the Grand Central Station.

2

When we reached Grand Central, I was immediately reminded of the scene in the movie Friends with Benefits where Justin Timberlake organized a flash mob for Mila Kunis.

3

We rode the subway again to Lexington Avenue/59th Street station. Then we walked two blocks to the entrance of the cable car ride which would take us to Roosevelt Island.

4

In the Island, we had coffee at Starbucks. I bought a mug for my collection.

5

From there, my step-brother and I continued our subway ride to the Union Square. My fellow flight attendant separated from us this time to meet her boyfriend. The instant eye-candy at the Square was the ongoing performance of a group of Hindi musicians and dancers. Street chess masters were playing on one side while a group of teens rode their skateboards on another area.

6

We walked to the Flat Iron district. I bought Mac lipsticks for a friend in Jeddah. From there, the Empire State Building was majestic on the horizon.

8

When we turned around, the famous Flatiron Building was towering above us.

7

We stopped by the Eataly Caffe, my step-brother’s favorite shop. This café is heaven for cheese-lovers.

8

As we continued walking, we passed by several shops: Memories of New York, Museum of Sex, and a souvenir shop with a life-size Statue of Liberty.

9

Finally, we reached the Empire State Building. We took photos at the lobby.

10

We rode the subway once more, this time to the Staten Island Ferry Station. Before going down to the subway station, we took a photo outside the Victoria’s Secret shop and Macy’s, the world’s largest store. Too bad we didn’t have the time to go inside these shops. But I’ll sure explore them next time.

11

We boarded the Staten Island Ferry. I was surprised that the ride was for free! Now that’s public service! The ferry ride connects downtown Manhattan with the Staten Island. It passes by Liberty Island so we were able to take photos with the Statue of Liberty in the background.

12

We rode the ferry back to downtown Manhattan. Then we walked to the famous Wall Street.

13

After a stroll on Wall Street, we rode the subway again to Times Square. The Times Square subway station was a feast for the eyes with its New Year inspired artworks.

14

Then there it was: Times Square shining and dazzling in the night.

15

We were so hungry so we ate right away at Applebee’s.

16

After eating, we walked the Square and took more photos.

17

It was already past 2 AM when we took the subway back to my step-brother’s apartment in Queens. He drove us back to my hotel in Long Island. After a few hours, my step-brother was off to his work. I dialed room service and ordered steak sandwich and mashed potato. Then I took a nap. After a few hours, I prepared for my flight back to Jeddah.


Leave a comment

Categories